Written by: Stephen Rogers | April 30, 2024

As part of our AI Assist service, we have an AI-generated similar bills feature. On bill pages there is a tab called Similar Bills. When you click on this tab, for a bill in a 2024 session or later, an AI tool will generate a list of bills that are similar to the bill you are looking at. See this post for more details about the Similar Bills tab.

You can use this feature to find relevant bills and easily add them to your bill sheets.

Imagine that I want to track legislation related to autonomous vehicles in California but I'm not sure exactly what search terms to use. I can perform a Quick Search (from the main navigation menu on the left) for "autonomous vehicles", to find a good bill, or maybe I already know at least one good bill, such as AB1777.

I can click on the bill number and choose the Similar Bills tab. I now have a list of 100 bills to look at, with the most relevant likely to be at the top:

a Similar Bills tab

Now, I create a bill sheet for my autonomous vehicles bills; see this video for how to create a new bill sheet. But leave the query blank for now so I have an empty bill sheet. Then look at the similar bills for AB1777.

I can filter for just California bills by clicking on the three lines at the top of the State tab and typing 'CA' into the box:

Filtering by state

This leaves me with 24 California bills.

I can now use the AI Summary to decide which bills are relevant, and add them to my Autonomous Vehicles bill sheets by clicking the + to the left of each bill, then click the + next to the bill sheet in the pop up:

Add to a bill sheet

Note: while I will have good, current bills on my bill sheet, because there is no query I will miss all future bills that are of interest - my bill sheet will always just have these bills on it. To make sure that doesn't happen, I can use the similar bills to identify words and phrases to create a good query to make sure I catch those future bills.