Written by: Joe | May 14, 2014

Over the past two Saturdays I had the opportunity to attend the annual open
house embassy tours. For anyone that lives in Washington, D.C. or is ever
thinking about visiting during the month of May, I would highly suggest taking
some time to tour the embassies, as they display the culture of their country.

One of the things I most enjoy about living in our nation’s capital, is the
opportunity to attend events like these. In all of the embassies I
experienced, the representatives were more than happy to tell me something
exciting and unique about their respective country. Although the touring is
the main attraction, getting the chance to interact with the people is what
really makes the experience worth it. Along with speaking with those that work
at the embassies, I got an equal amount of culture just from standing in line.
One family that I met had lived in Dubai for a number of years. The
interesting stories they told me, definitely aroused my interest in taking a
trip there one day. The interesting thing was that it seemed that everyone
touring was more worldly than the next.

Along with the culture of viewing the different embassies, I might add, that I
definitely enjoyed the many items that were given away. The best of was at the
Embassy of Belgium. Not only did you see the unique displays they had put up,
but you had the chance to walk away with a box of chocolates and a beer. It
made my experience of waiting in a line for a half hour in the rain totally
worth it.