Written by: Joe | June 26, 2014

Today at 12pm The U.S. will be playing Germany in the final game of the first round in the World Cup. The scenario we are all hoping for is that the U.S. tops the group with a win. We can also still be happy with a draw and advance. The U.S. could also advance with a loss if Ghana and Portugal draw, or Portugal wins by a small margin.

I’m not one to watch soccer but how can you not get excited when your country is playing in any sport! I’m not going to lie, I want to win. I want the U.S. to win bad. You better believe that I will be attending a watch party event in Dupont Circle that the German Embassy is putting on. The game will be broadcast on two “large, weather- and glare-proof screens.” Out of good faith between our two countries I tip my hat to the Germans. What is not to love about their plan to host a large soccer party today for the US-Germany showdown. I’m very excited to be a part of what is expected to be “the largest public viewing event in Washington.” Especially with the fact that according to ESPN’s World Cup ratings, D.C. was the country’s top English-language market.

It’s not the outcome I would have liked. However, we are advancing to the next round of the World Cup!

Had a great time today rooting U.S.A!!!!