Written by: Joe | July 14, 2014

It has almost been a year since Bao Bao was born on August 23, 2013, at the National Zoo in Washington, D.C. Back then the only way you could view her was through the infamous Panda Cam. So I, like many other interested persons in the DC area, had to wait for her debut in January. Yes, I did wait in the cold of January to see a baby panda. During the week of January 18, in the middle of the winter, I visited the National Zoo for the long anticipated public debut of Bao Bao. Standing in line during January was a contrast to the oven I walked around in this weekend in DC. It has been a long anticipated trip to the Zoo for me. Last time, the only part of Bao Bao I got to see was her little puff ball figure as she slept.

                                               

This time when I saw Bao Bao she was not only a lot bigger, but a lot more active. I got to see her go Inside and outside. Bao Bao checked out trees in the panda yard and did a little bit of climbing, I also watched her eat some bamboo. All and all she put on a good show. Something about watching a panda is very captivating. Bao Bao, which means “treasure” definitely lived up to her name of being the treasure of the National Zoo. Everywhere you walk in the park, the pandas are advertised as the main attraction that you have to see. The clock is ticking to see Bao Bao. Giant pandas are an endangered species, and since Giant Panda births are rare, they are sent back to China when they turn four years old.