Written by: Sarah Johnson | January 26, 2017

Saturday January 21st, 2017 was the most inspirational day in recent American history. The Women’s March – on Washington DC, Los Angeles, Denver, New York City, Chicago, Boston, London, Tel Aviv, Melbourne, Moscow, Berlin, Mexico City and even Antartica – with an estimated over 2.8 million women, men and children attending – the world stood up to President Donald Trump. We stood together in solidarity with our partners and children for the protection of our rights, our safety, our health, and our families – recognizing that our vibrant and diverse communities are the strength of our country. – The Women’s March

Children and Vets at Women’s March Denver

With chants like “Show me what democracy looks like, this is what democracy looks like”, “Trump escucha, estamos en la lucha!”, “Women united will never be defeated”, “Women’s rights are human rights”, “My body, my choice” the message was clear: people are fighting for equality, respect and women’s right to have control over their lives and bodies. Some of the loudest and most impactful statements came from the little tykes protesting an America they deserve so much better than “I’m a Kid and This Cannot Be My Future.” Other moving tributes consisted of those from men “Men of quality don’t fear equality” or veterans, “Walked Point in Vietnam to Defend Democracy in 1970, Walked the Mall in Washington to Defend Democracy in 2017.”

I was inspired by all of the people I saw from my alma matter (University of Denver) and my hometown (in the mountains of Colorado) as well from other walks of my life at the march in Denver and at marches all over the US and world. From women I admire and respect making the trek out to Washington DC to women living abroad and traveling far to attend marches in London, Buenos Aires and Barcelona – I was so proud of the women in my life and on this Earth that day.

Picture from: Marguerite Elfstrom Denver, CO BT50 employee Sarah

While at the march, I sat on a fence for about an hour and took in what was happening. It was such an emotional rollercoaster. Seeing the masses of women, men and children coming together in such a beautiful, peaceful and passionate way is something I will never forget. It was so interesting to reflect about my personal journey through the campaigns and election. The feelings of despair, disgust and confusion I (and so many others) felt had resulted in something so magnificent and inspiring. I didn’t feel alone and scared, I felt supported and encouraged. Sitting in silence on that wall, I was overcome with with faith and hope in humanity and the future of the country I love, but haven’t been proud of as of late.

Not only did I see signs promoting women, but also promoting LGBTQ acceptance and shining light on issues people of color have been consistently fighting for years. This march was a march for all women and demonstrated that it is not only straight, white, cis women’s rights that are in danger and worth fighting for. I believe this was a step forward in coming together to continue to bring activism throughout the country and world to issues that affect select groups of people and are incredibly important to our progress and end goal of equality.

My favorite signs from the day (aside from the ones that made me laugh..and then cry a little) were these, some from friends, some from strangers, but all with a good message.

Best Denver Women’s March Signs

I’ll leave you with the words of Aziz Ansari from SNL on January 21st:

“I want to leave you guys with a serious thought. I know there’s a lot of people that are worried right now. This is a weird time.

If you’re excited about Trump, great. He’s president. Let’s hope he does a great job.

If you’re scared about Trump and you’re very worried, you’re going to be O.K., too. Because if you look at our country’s history, change doesn’t come from presidents. Change comes from large groups of angry people. And if Day 1 is any indication, you are part of the largest group of angry people I have ever seen.” 

Below are some of my pictures from the March on Denver along with some tweets from around the world.

Protests reached as far as Antartica. Here are my two favorites.

 

And my all time favorite sign to end on

 

About BillTrack50 – BillTrack50 offers free tools for citizens to easily research legislators and bills across all 50 states and Congress. BillTrack50 also offers professional tools to help organizations with ongoing legislative and regulatory tracking, as well as easy ways to share information both internally and with the public.